Announcing the recipients of the Rural Leader Journey

The Alaska Community Foundation, in partnership with Alaska Airlines, Rasmuson Foundation and The Foraker Group are proud to announce the ten winners of the inaugural 2015 Rural Leaders Journey. Recipients received a voucher for round-trip travel on Alaska Airlines/Horizon Air, providing them the chance for a brief respite from their daily professional duties. Recipients – many nominated by fellow employees or their organization’s Board – were recognized for their exemplary service in the nonprofit and tribal sectors.

Alaskans face unique challenges given the distance between our communities. Rest and rejuvenation encourage innovation and growth. Through the Rural Leader Journey program, we now have an opportunity to support our rural leaders in a way that best supports them.

Candace Winkler, President & CEO of The Alaska Community Foundation

Each of the awardees represented outstanding leadership in their communities and letters of support from community members, fellow employees and/or board members underscored their capabilities. Board members of Ilisagvik College in Barrow nominated the College’s President, Pearl Brower, recognizing her unique dedication and support for the tribal college’s mission.

President Brower exemplifies the goals of Ilisagvik College – educating a homegrown workforce in rural Alaska. She selflessly puts [the College] first, and often spends weeks without much of a break to provide leadership and direction to our organization. She has a passion to support her community and rural Alaska.

Ida Angasan, Board Chair

Winners were announced at The Foraker Group Leadership Summit on April 21, 2015, with one of the ten awardees randomly drawn from a list of Leadership Summit attendees. For more information and a complete list of the award recipients, please visit

The Alaska Community Foundation, Rasmuson Foundation, and The Foraker Group thank Alaska Airlines for their support for this valuable program, which they plan to offer again in 2016.