A scholarship fund to support Alaskan athletes with aspirations of competing in the Winter Olympics.

Winter Olympians began working with ACF in 2003 and established the scholarship fund in September of 2012. The program offers yearly scholarships to assist current and potential Alaska winter Olympians with the high costs of preparing for Olympic competition. Scholarships are awarded to Alaskan residents who show regional, national or international promise in Olympic winter sports and who also have financial need. Scholarships are granted once a year and are overseen by an advisory committee consisting of several former Alaska winter Olympians, as well as other supporters of winter Olympic sports. Scholarship funds will assist Alaskan athletes with costs such as race entry fees, gear and travel expenses.

Receiving a scholarship from the Alaska Winter Olympians Fund is extremely influential. It allows me not to constantly stress about the travel expenses that I accumulate when competing at the international level, and instead be able to focus on really preparing myself to do my best. The Alaska Community Foundation is making a real difference by helping Alaska’s elite athletes continue to be positive role models in our state.

Reese Hanneman, 2013 and 2014 AWOF Scholarship Recipient

Follow the Alaska Winter Olympians Scholarship Fund on Facebook to stay informed on AWOF news, updates, and progress of our Alaska winter Olympians.

2014 Scholarship Recipients

Erik Bjornsen – Cross Country Skiing – www.erikbjornsen.com
Kieffer Christianson – Alpine Skiing – www.kiefferchristianson.com
Lauren Fritz – Nordic Skiing – www.aklaurenfritz.wordpress.com
Reese Hanneman – Cross Country Skiing – www.reesehanneman.com
Chelsea Holmes – Cross Country Skiing – www.facebook.com/chelseaholmes.athlete
Tyler Kornfield – Cross Country Skiing – www.tylerkornfield.com
Andrew Kurka – Adaptive Alpine Skiing – www.andrewkurka.wordpress.com
David Norris – Nordic Skiing – blogs.fasterskier.com/davidnorris/
Eric Packer – Cross Country Skiing – www.ericpacker.com
Lex Treinen – Nordic Skiing

Apply for this scholarship

More from this Category